OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY
Main Menu   Go to extras

You are here

Assessment/Accreditation

Assessment of Degree Programs in the College of Science

Faculty in the College of Science are engaged in full cycle assessment of undergraduate and graduate degree programs using a variety of direct and indirect assessment methods. Methods used to directly assess student learning and degree programs involve learning activities in capstone courses, comprehensive exams, culminating projects, mid program or end of program student assessments, final exams/projects/papers, course embedded assessments (CATs) in course work, oral proficiency, interviews, portfolios, practicum/internship, thesis/dissertation, and certification results. Methods used to indirectly assess student learning and degree programs include graduation rates, retention rates, alumni satisfaction surveys, employment/employer satisfaction surveys, exit interviews/surveys, professional school acceptance rates, and advisory board input. College of Science faculty offer numerous high impact student learning experiences, some of which serve as the medium for implementing assessment methods. High impact student learning experiences include, First-Year Seminars and Experiences, Learning Communities, Service and/or Community-based Learning, Study Abroad, Undergraduate Research, Internships, Writing-Intensive Courses, Collaborative assignments and projects, and Culminating Experiences.

Full cycle assessment, in the College of Science, uses this process:

  •  Faculty propose learning outcomes for their courses and degree programs.
  •  Assessment methods, both direct and indirect, are developed and implemented by faculty to test learning outcomes.
  •  Data is collected and interpreted.
  •  Faculty discuss data and interpretations to form recommendations.
  •  Recommendations are agreed upon and implemented to make changes in the curriculum and the learning environment.
  •  Learning outcomes are created, removed or evolved as a result of full cycle assessment.
  •  Full cycle assessment process is documented, through yearly written reports and college and departmental meetings.

Degree program outcomes are available as attachments at the end of this page.

 Contact information for department chairs and assessment representatives is listed below.

1. Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

            Chair: Gary Merrill;  merrillg@science.oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Indira Rajagopal; rajagopi@onid.orst.edu

2. Biology Program

            Chair: Robert Mason; masonr@science.oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Brock McLeod; mcleodb@science.oregonstate.edu

3. Department of Chemistry

            Chair: Rich Carter; rich.carter@oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Chris Pastorek; christine.pastorek@oregonstate.edu

4. General Sciences Program

            Director: Janine Trempy; trempyj@oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Janine Trempy; trempyj@oregonstate.edu

5. Department of Mathematics

            Chair: Thomas Dick; tpdick@math.oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Mina Ossiander; ossiand@math.oregonstate.edu

6. Department of Microbiology

            Chair: Theo Dreher; theo.dreher@oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Linda Bruslind; bruslindl@oregonstate.edu

7. Department of Physics

            Chair: Henri Jansen; physics.chair@oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: David McIntyre; mcintyre@ucs.orst.edu

8. Department of Statistics

            Chair: Virginia Lesser; lesser@science.oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Virginia Lesser; lesser@science.oregonstate.edu

9. Department of Zoology

            Chair: Virginia Weis; weisv@oregonstate.edu

            Assessment Representative: Barbara Taylor; taylorb@science.oregonstate.edu

College of Science

            Interim Dean: Vince Remcho; vince.remcho@oregonstate.edu

            College Assessment Representative: Janine Trempy, Associate Dean; trempyj@oregonstate.edu   

Last updated 9/26/12