The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual each year who has chosen a career as a Faculty Research Assistant/Associate, or Senior Faculty Assistant/Associate, and has a record of outstanding job performance and contributions.  The recipient will receive a certificate of merit, a plaque, and a $500 cash award at College of Science Awards Day.


  • The nominees must be members of the research faculty (non-academic) within the College of Science.
  • At the time of nomination, the nominee must have a minimum of three years of continuous service in the College of Science at half-time or more.


  • Exceptional job performance
  • Innovativeness in work
  • Scholarly achievements, publications, or programs
  • Participation in University and community affairs
  • Contributions valuable to the state of Oregon
  • Evidence of favorable peer respect
  • Evidence of continued professional growth

Extended Information (PDF)

Previous Award Winners

Jonathan Robinson, Integrative Biology, 2017
Dana Howe, Integrative Biology, 2015
Myra Koesdjojo, Chemistry, 2014
Nathan Lopez, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2013
Lanelle Connolly, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2012
Jeffrey Morre, Chemistry, 2011
Jerod Sapp, Zoology, 2010
Kevin Vergin, Microbiology, 2009
Viola Manning, Botany & Plant Pathology, 2008
Linda Benson, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2007 
Mark Meyers, Geosciences, 2006
Samuel Bradford, Zoology, 2006