Electronics Lab Physics

Academic advisors can help with more than just choosing classes

  • Career planning (what can I do with this major?)
  • Helping you gain experience in your field (jobs, internships, etc.)
  • Addressing difficulties you may be having in classes
  • Locating campus resources to help you get more involved on campus
  • Assisting you with exploring minors and elective courses
  • Getting you started in undergraduate research
  • Helping you learn about study abroad opportunities
  • Offer assistance in preparing for graduate or professional school

 

Advising in our College is decentralized, which means you can get advising from both faculty and professional advisors in each department. Below is a list of our advisors. If you have any questions, please contact Head Advisor Heather Arbuckle in the College of Science in 128 Kidder Hall or call 541-737-4811 to schedule an appointment. 

Advisor Major and Options Served Office Phone Email
Heather Arbuckle Head Advisor, College of Science KIDD 128 541-737-4786   heather.arbuckle@oregonstate.edu
Kevin Ahern Chief Biochemistry & Biophysics Advisor ALS 2145 541-737-8906 ahernk@science.oregonstate.edu
Andy Karplus Biochemistry & Biophysics Advisor ALS 2101B 541-737-3196 karplusp@science.oregonstate.edu
Indira Rajagopal Biochemistry & Biophysics Advisor ALS 2149 541-737-4014 rajagopi@onid.orst.edu
Brock McLeod Chief Biology/Zoology Advisor CORD 3029 541-737-2993 brock.mcleod@oregonstate.edu
Jennifer Olarra Biology/Zoology Advisor CORD 3029 541-737-2993 jennifer.olarra@oregonstate.edu
Maureen Leong-Kee Biology/Zoology Advisor  CORD 3029 541-737-2993 maureen.leong-kee@oregonstate.edu
Christine Pastorek Chief Chemistry Advisor GILB 247 541-737-2081 christine.pastorek@oregonstate.edu
James Ingle Chemistry Advisor GILB 251 541-737-6743 james.ingle@oregonstate.edu
Bill Bogley Chief Mathematics Advisor
(Last names D-H)
KIDD 368 541-737-5170 MathHeadAdvisor@math.oregonstate.edu
Lyn Riverstone Mathematics Advisor KIDD 368 541-737-5170 UnderGradInfo@math.oregonstate.edu
Dave Wing Mathematics Advisor KIDD 368 541-737-5170 UnderGradInfo@math.oregonstate.edu
Elise Lockwood Mathematics Advisor (Last names A-C) KIDD 368 541-737-5164 lockwoel@science.oregonstate.edu
Radu Dascaliuc Mathematics Advisor (Last names I-L) KIDD 113R 541-737-4172 dascalir@math.oregonstate.edu
Nathan Gibson Mathematics Advisor (Last names M-P) KIDD 352 541-737-4894 gibsonn@math.oregonstate.edu
Juan Restrepo Mathematics Advisor (Last names Q-S) KIDD 344 541-737-5139 restrepo@math.oregonstate.edu
Clayton Petsche Mathematics Advisor (Last names T-Z) KIDD 363 541-737-5179 petschec@math.oregonstate.edu
Mina Osslander Mathematics Advisor: Statistics and Applied & Computational Options KIDD 298B 541-737-2021 ossiand@math.oregonstate.edu
Ed Waymire Mathematics Advisor: Actuarial Option KIDD 368 541-737-5186 waymire@math.orst.edu
Linda Bruslind Chief Microbiology and BioHealth Science Advisor NASH 322 541-737-1842 bruslindl@oregonstate.edu
Jeneva Anderson Microbiology Advisor NASH 326 541-737-5968  
Henri Jansen Head Physics Advisor WNGR 303 541-737-4631 phys-advising@science.oregonstate.edu
Barbara Kessel BioHealth Science Advisor NASH 225 541-737-5710 barbara.kessel@oregonstate.edu
Ariella Wolf BioHealth Science Advisor NASH 225 541-737-3875 ariella.wolf@oregonstate.edu
Alex Beck BioHealth Science Advisor NASH 225 541-737-5414 alex.beck@oregonstate.edu

Advising Links

FERPA

Advisors are restricted by Federal law (FERPA) from releasing any information about a student’s class schedule, grades, transcripts, advising checklist, or other specific information to anyone without written permission from that student. You can obtain a Consent for Student Release of Information form from the Head Advising Office in Kidder 128. Please note:  the form needs to be signed in person by the student in order for us to release designated information to other parties. Advisors can offer general information such as what university resources are available to you, classes and majors that are offered, and general strategies and guidance to address certain acedmic situations.

Resources

  • Office of the Registrar, 541-737-4331
  • Dean of Students, 541-737-8748
  • Office of Academic Programs, 541-737-9560

Careers and Majors

Course Information

Advisors and PIN Numbers

  • We recommend that you see your advisor at least once a term.
  • As a current student, you will be assigned a personal identification number (PIN) once a year. You must have a PIN to register for fall term classes, and can obtain your PIN from your advisor. For more information, refer to our Registration PIN Policy.

Study Skills Workshops and Special Help

Obtaining Community College Credit for Organic Chemistry

If you are a transfer student who has taken Organic Chemistry Courses at an Oregon Community College, read the Organic Chemistry Policy at Oregon State University for more details and requirements.

Degree Partnership Programs

The Degree Partnership Programs enabls you to be jointly admitted and enrolled at Oregon State University as well as at any Oregon community college partner.

Email Listservs

Electronic mailing lists can provide you wiht helpful information on scholarships, curricular changes, internships, job opportunities and much more.

Student Resources

The College of Science offers  students many exciting experiential learning experiences on campus, across the country, and around the world. Simply by planning ahead, you can incorporate many of these life-changing opportunities into your college experience. Below are resources to help you make the most of your experience at Oregon State.