The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished scholarship in science by honoring a faculty member in the College of Science whose scholarship and scientific accomplishments have extended over a substantial period of time.

Special consideration is given to candidates with research careers that have had a significant impact on his or her field. The award and public lecture represent a modest way of recognizing annually distinguished scholarship carried out by the College of Science faculty.

Extended Information (PDF)

Previous Award Winners

Janet Tate, Physics, 2015
Ed Waymire
, Mathematics, 2014
Mas Subramanian, Chemistry, 2013
Andy Karplus, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2012
Stephen Giovannoni, Microbiology, 2011
Mark Hixon, Zoology, 2010
Andrew Blaustein, Zoology, 2009
Peter Clark, Geosciences, 2008
Joseph Beckman, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 2007
Jane Lubchenco, Zoology, 2006
Stevan J. Arnold, Zoology, 2005
Walter Loveland, Chemistry, 2004
Daniel J. Arp, Botany and Plant Pathology, 2003
Frank L. Moore, Zoology, 2002
Douglas Keszler, Chemistry, 2001
Dennis Hruby, Microbiology, 2000
Brian Croft, Entomology, 1999
Dallice I. Mills, Botany & Plant Pathology, 1998
Bruce A. Menge, Zoology, 1997
James D. White, Chemistry, 1996
Ronald B. Guenther, Mathematics, 1995
T. Darrah Thomas, Chemistry, 1994
John D. Lattin, Entomology, 1993
John L. Fryer, Microbiology, 1992
William Sandine, Microbiology, 1991
Donald J. Reed, Biochem. & Biophysics, 1990
Christopher Mathews, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 1989
Roman Schmitt, Chemistry, 1988
Gerald Krantz, Entomology, 1987
Norman Bishop, Botany & Plant Pathology, 1986
Kenneth Hedberg, Chemistry, 1985
Kensal van Holde, Biochemistry & Biophysics, 1984