The Ecological Society of America (ESA) recognized the College of Science’s Department of Integrative Biology (IB) strengths in ecology at their 99th annual meeting in Sacramento this week. Founded in 1915, ESA is the premier professional society of ecologists in the United States.  

In addition to IB Professor Andrew Blaustein being honored as an ESA Fellow, alumna Laura Petes (’07) was named a 2014 ESA Early Career Fellow. She works in the Climate Program Office at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Previously she was detailed to the White House’s Office of Science and Technology Policy).

Jane Lubchenco, OSU Distinguished University Professor and former National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Administrator, received ESA’s Eminent Ecologist Award, which is the most prestigious award they grant and recognizes an outstanding body of ecological work of sustained ecological contributions of extraordinary merit. She was named to the first class of ESA Fellows in 2012.

These recent accolades build on a tradition of excellence. ESA recognized the following people in OSU’s Integrative Biology community of faculty, alumni and friends:

·      IB Professor Bruce Menge as a 2013 ESA Fellow

·      Duncan Menge, Assistant Professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution & Environmental Biology or E3B at Columbia University was named to the inaugural class of Early Career Fellows in 2013. Duncan is the son of Bruce Menge and and Jane Lubchenco).

·      Alumna Carla D’Antonio (’82) was named a 2013 ESA Fellow. She was an advisee of both Bruce Menge and Jane Lubchenco and is currently a Professor of Ecology Evolution and Marine Biology at the University of California at Santa Barbara. 

Publish Date: 
Tuesday, August 12, 2014